Book Cover of The Writer's Library by Nancy Pearl and Jeff Schwager

Nancy Pearl – America’s favorite librarian – and playwright Jeff Schwager interview 23 of today’s living authors to learn which books inspired them and shaped their careers. The authors in The Writer’s Library are: Russell Banks, TC Boyle, Michael Chabon, Susan Choi, Jennifer Egan, Dave Eggers, Louise Erdrich, Richard Ford, Laurie Frankel, Andrew Sean Greer, Jane Hirshfield, Siri Hustvedt, Charles Johnson, Laila Lalami, Jonathan Lethem, Donna Tartt, Madeline Miller, Viet Thanh Nguyen, Luis Alberto Urrea, Vendela Vida, Ayelet Waldman, Maaza Mengiste, and Amor Towles. You should have some familiarity with the authors to really enjoy this book, which is really just transcripts of their interviews with the authors at their homes. The books mentioned by the authors made me expand my TBR pile!