book cover of Magpie by Elizabeth Day

This was an interesting twisty book but a warning for those experiencing infertility or mental illness, as it can be triggering. Marisa and Jake seem like the perfect couple with a new home and a new baby on the way. But then Kate moves in to help with the finances and things get a little tricky. Why are Kate and Jake so close? Why does Kate know so much about their lives? As Marisa begins to learn more about Kate, readers learn more about Marisa and her obsessions. I love a good story with an unreliable narrator – this book is perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.