The James V Brown Library Presents:

The Author Gala

Best-selling author Marie Benedict is the featured speaker for the Library’s 20th Author Gala at the Community Arts Center on October 12, 2023.

Tickets start at $30 and $45 and will be available starting July 13 at the CAC box office: or 570-326-2424. To receive a link to watch the livestream for a $25 fee, contact Dana at 570-327-2957.

This exciting event is the library’s main fundraiser each year. Typically held in the fall, the Gala is an evening full of fun and laughter for a good cause – your public library! The Gala funds support the library’s mission of being the place to go to learn, connect and grow, and help the library offer programming for all ages.

upcoming author gala tbd

Have an idea for an upcoming Author?

Featured Authors

2023 – Marie Benedict
2022 – Elin Hilderbrand
2021 – David Baldacci
2020 – (No gala due to Covid)
2019 – Lisa See
2018 – Dennis Lehane
2017 – Louise Penny
2016 – Chris Bohjalian
2015 – Ruth Reichl
2014 – Jennifer Weiner
2013 – Lisa Scottoline
2012 – Adriana Trigiani
2011 – Snigda Prakash
2010 – Michael Buckley
2009 – Toni Murden McClure
2008 – Marisa de Los Santos
2007 – Jon and Jona Van Zyle
2006 – (No gala, capital campaign year)
2005 – Adriana Trigiani
2004 – Kathy Reichs
2003 – F. Paul Wilson
2002 – Robert Smith

Tickets are required for this event and may be purchased by calling the library at 570-326-0536.

2022 Author Gala Sponsors

Speaker sponsor
Friends of the James V. Brown Library

VIP reception sponsor
Marshall D. Welch III and Family

Centerpiece sponsors
135 Flats – Trisha Gibbons Marty
Stephanie T. Calder
Jane Darrow
Jersey Shore State Bank
Pennsylvania College of Technology
Wegmans Food Market, Inc.

Dessert sponsors
Martha Gandy
Annmarie Phillips

Patron Sponsors
Donna Biehl
Thomas and Laurie Burkholder
Brette and Dave Confair
John M. and Linda D. Confer
Marlin R. and Brenda L. Cromley
Gephart Moyer Financial Advisors
Gloria and Charles Greevy III
International Development Corporation
Barbara S. McGary
Rick and Sara Mirabito
Dean and Ann Muller
Margaret and John F. Piper Jr.
Staiman Recycling Corporation

Book sponsors
Alexander Family Dealerships
Karen Blaschak
Donna Bastian
Ina McCormick
Susquehanna Law Group, Inc.

2022 Author Gala Gifts in Kind

Stefanie Allison
Daniel Alters
American Rescue Workers
Backhouse Cafe
Bloomsburg Children’s Museum
Bloomsburg Theatre Ensemble
Bonner Sports, Inc.
Dana Brigandi
Laurie Burkholder
Stephanie Calder
Kristin Caringi
Nick Caringi
Central PA Tennis Center
David Coates
Community Arts Center
Brenda Cromley
Rikki Feerrar
Deanna Gephart
Gold Leaf Frame Shoppe, LLC
Gloria Greevy
Gustonian Gifts
Healthy Touch Day Spa and Salon
Janet Hurlbert
Kitchen Repose
Carol Lady
Lewisburg Children’s Museum
Long Lane Farm Flowers
Longwood Gardens
Paul Mach
Jamie Mahoney
Rick Mahonski
Richard Matukonis
Crissy McGinness

Beth Moser
Museum of the American Revolution
Philadelphia Museum of Art
Annmarie Phillips
Preservation Williamsport
Purity Candy Company
Melissa Rackish
Stephanie Radulski
Salon Simone
Andrea Sapiente
Melissa Starkey
Susquehanna Gallery & Frame Shoppe
Tag’s Family-Style Take Out
Texas Roadhouse
The Hideaway Facial Studio
The Sawhorse Cafe
Kaylora Thompson
Tony’s Delicatessen & Fresh Meats
Tröegs Independent Brewing
Ultimate Express Car Wash & Pet Wash
Whitesel Stained Glass
Whitnie Rae Photography
Karol Wight
Wildberry Studios
Lois Williams
Williamsport/Lycoming Chamber of Commerce
Glenn Wininger
Jeanne Yaggi
YWCA Northcentral PA

2022 Author Gala Committee

Stephanie Calder, chair
Brette Confair
Brenda Cromley
Jeri Demel
Gloria Greevy
Dennis Keith
Diane Pelesh
Annmarie Phillips
Melissa Rackish
Stephanie Radulski
Ruth Rees
Tricia Shipman
Melissa Starkey

2022 Author Gala Auction Winners

Online Auction Winners

Rick Mahonski Gold PendantAngela Wilson
Stay at Club Wyndham West Winds at Myrtle BeachDiane Pelesh
Birch Cottage Keuka Lakeside Weekend VacationBecky Fought
iPadJames Redka
Kayaking Starter KitLinda Confer
“Night on the Town” package Marisa Rau
Custom Quilt handmade by Janet HurlbertLinda Morris
Beth Moser Beaded necklaceSue Kelley
Pamper Yourself PackageChristine Kavanagh
Book Club LunchBarbara Wascher
Baby books and learning activities basketChristine Kavanagh
Early-Childhood Book Basket Annmarie Phillips
Tween Game and Book BasketMaria Casale
Winter Book BasketSue Fulton
Dine on us packageLois Williams
“Winter’s Brilliance” print by Ken HunterBrette Confair
Custom hand-blown glass pumpkinCarol Lady
Autographed baseball from Hall of Famer Mariano Rivera Rebecca Charles
Kitchen Repose Gift CardBarbara Wascher
Treat Yourself PackageLisa Knauff
Lottery TreeDiane Pelesh
Picnic on the Beach packageGus Mckelvey
Journal making class by Stone Root Studio for 4Stephanie Radulski
Fine Freshwater Pearl Sterling necklaceAnnmarie Phillips
Chef Paul Mach wine/beer tasting at homeBarbara Wascher
Private Yoga Party for 6Nicole Nardi
Art Buzz Kids birthday party for 8Maria Casale
Vera Bradley Grand Tote in Plum Pansies patternSue Fulton
Coach handbag and matching walletBarbara Wascher
2023 Flower CSA MembershipJennifer Wilson
Itty Bitty Blazes All-Natural Soy Candle SubscriptionRenee Carey
Wildberry Studios Private Class for 12Brette Confair
Victorian Christmas ticketsLois Williams
Sunflower Art MosaicGail Kulp
Tour of Philadelphia PackageRobin Borick
Trip to Corning Museum of GlassLois Williams
Hit the Green packageSue Kelley
Tennis PackageStacey Butterfield
Miche classic purse Paul Starkey
Bloomsburg Theatre Ensemble ticket James Redka
Whitesel Stained GlassAlan Wyland
Family Photography PackageSarah Brown
Family Photography PackageTracey Amey
Tröegs Brewery TourDebi Burch
Tröegs Brewery TourLori Tempesco
Louise Penny signed books – Lot #1Faye Kreger
Louise Penny signed books – Lot #2Gayle Peters-Coates
Louise Penny signed books – Lot #3Paul Starkey
Artwork from Susquehanna Print and Frame Shoppe Faye Kreger
Ultimate Express Car Wash PackageMichael Richards

Ticket Auction Winners

Backhouse CaféLisa Novotny
Glenn Wininger paintingAllison Staiman
Reduce, Reuse, RecycleLisa Novotny
Patinaz Sterling necklaceSuzy Foresman
Book BasketStephanie Calder
Vera Bradley purseErla Mae Frederick
Chocolate turkey from PurityChristine Kavanaugh
Dooney and Burke purseLori Tempesco
KindleStephanie Calder
Door prize – Breast cancerLisa Rees