Astrid Sees All by Natalie Standiford Book Cover

The book is set in New York in 1984 when Phoebe is 22 years old and dealing with the recent death of her father. She wants a glamourous lifestyle but can only find work at nightclubs as Astrid the Star Girl who tells celebrities their fortunes with movie tickets. Naturally, drugs, sex and rock-and-roll lifestyle has drastic effects, and Phoebe struggles to find herself. The complicated relationship between Phoebe and her best friend/roommate Carmen changes when Phoebe makes a mistake. This book is a fun look at 1980s culture and I recommend it for fans of Sweet Bitter and Fleabag.