McMillan Cottom is an award-winning professor and author and this was my first introduction to her work. She is a modern black American feminist who shares her experiences and insights on beauty, gender, politics, money and society in this essay collection.

This is a difficult book to read in one sitting, as each essay will leave you thinking. I made sure I devoted the time and energy to each essay that I believed it deserved. I recommend this book for fans of Ta-Nehisi Coates’ Between the World and Me.